Yvonne Durelle dies at 77

Canadian boxing legend, Yvon Durelle died on January 6th at the age of 77.  

My memory of Durelle is the great fight that he had with Archie Moore in 1958.

Durelle strung together a series of wins and took on the 43-year-old Moore on Dec. 10, 1958, at the Montreal Forum, a fight that would go down in the annals of boxing history.

A prohibitive underdog, Durelle decked Moore three times in the first round and seemed on the verge of a stunning upset. He again floored the champion in the fifth round.

But the “Ol’ Mongoose,” as Moore was dubbed, knew every trick in the boxing book, and summoned nearly all of them to come from behind and batter Durelle for an 11th-round stoppage.

Knocked down four times, Moore looked as though he was finished but he was a very skilled and smart fighter. He  simply covered his head with his arms and let Durelle punch at him until he recovered and took back control of the fight. Durelle was strong but he couldn’t get past Moore’s defense in order to put him away. It was an amazing performance.

Moore was an amazing fighter, having fought successfuly as a middleweight, a light heavyweight and a heavyweight.

4 Responses to “Yvonne Durelle dies at 77”

  1. Vicki Fleiger Says:

    Hello, my name is Vicki, I’m 14 years old and Yvon Durelle was my great uncle. He was my grandmother Patricia Fleiger(Durelle) and married my grandfather Arnold Fleiger. I miss them both dearly, I don’t ever recall meeting my uncle Yvon. I hear he was an amazing guy, and if I could go back intime, and meet him, I would totally do it.

  2. totalrecoil Says:

    Vicki: Thanks for the comment. Your great uncle was a Canadian hero and you have every right to be very proud of him.

  3. Paul Says:

    I am very proud of Yvonne..strong and great fighter..i remember him wrestling a guy by the name of Ivan Zukoff in Barrie Ontario many years ago..he dropped him with a wicked left hook….

    RIP..Yvonne

  4. full house episodes Says:

    full house episodes…

    […]Yvonne Durelle dies at 77 « Totalrecoil[…]…

Leave a Reply

