Archive for August 29th, 2008

Sammy Davis Jr.: The greatest entertainer ever

August 29, 2008

I have just been on YouTube watching and listening to some of Sammy Davis’ performances and was once again reminded what an amazing all-round performer the man was. He was a marvelous dancer, singer and impersonator. He was a pretty good actor as well.

When I lived in Toronto for a short period in the 1950s Davis was in town,  probably playing a club. TV was live and things were much more informal and Davis showed up on CBC and did a half hour show. What was unique was that he was the only performer on stage. It was low-key, no fancy props, just a stool. He was on for the whole show; sang, danced and wonderfully, did the commercials as well. It was amazing television. There will be no tapes of the show, only memories, no matter how fleeting. I wish I could see it again.

Here he is in his prime:

And his signature song.

Others may disagree, but in my humble opinion Davis was, and is, the greatest all-round entertainer of our time. If there is a heaven and through more good luck than good management I end up there -and if Sammy Davis Jr. is performing – I want tickets.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.