Guns I wish I still owned

Every once in a while I think back on various firearms that I have owned over the years and wonder why I ever let them leave my possession.

Today I was thinking of a sweet little heavy barreled Sako .223 which I traded off for something (I can’t even remember what) that at the time I obviously thought I needed. I would love to have it in my rack today.

Others include a Mannlicher Schoenauer 30/06 with a full stock and rotary magazine as well as a lovely little FN Mauser in 250/3000 which I used  in centerfire hunting rifle matches back over 40 years ago when I lived in Fort St. John. I parted with the 30/06 because the stock was starting to split in a couple of spots due to a lot of use at the rifle range. I let the FN go because I was an idiot.

Then there was the gorgeous little AYA 20 gauge side x side and a Smith & Wesson Model 19 Combat Magnum with a 4 inch barrel that was one of the sweetest shooting handguns I ever owned. As well as the pre-64 Winchester Model 70 in .375 H&H that had a G&H quarter rib installed.

Of course there are the ones that I should have bought such as the original Colt Bisley with an asking price of $75 and the Mauser Broomhandle owned by an old trapper who wanted somewhere in the area of $50. Brain dead is the word that comes to mind.

My only comfort comes from the fact that a few years ago our house was burglarized and most of my guns went out the door, never to return. So I rationalize that even had I kept those guns, in the end some low-life would have used them to finance his drug habit. It gives me some comfort, however irrational.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

